About

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

 

 

 

 

Under the federal Clean Water Act, the U.S. Geological Survey supports a water research institute or center in each U.S state and territory. Since 1967, the West Virginia Water Research Institue (WVWRI) at West Virginia University has served the people of the state by developing solutions to important environmental and economic development issues and disseminating the results to the public, legislators and government officials. WVWRI is the premiere water research center in West Virginia and, within selected fields, a national and even international leader.

WVWRI serves as the coordinating body for the following programs: Rare Earth Recovery, the National Mine Land Reclamation Center, Three Rivers QUEST, Water Resources Research, Environmental Technology Division, Geotechnical Engineering,  West Virginia Outdoor Learning Lab, Northern West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Center, and Hydrology Research Center.  An advisory board serves to guide the activities of WVWRI.

WVWRI Fact Sheet



WVWRI OFFICES

West Virginia University
PO Box 6064
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-4974

Staff

Paul F. Ziemkiewicz, Ph.D., Director
(304) 293-6958
Paul.Ziemkiewicz@mail.wvu.edu

Tamara F. Vandivort, Associate Director
(304) 293-6968
Tamara.Vandivort@mail.wvu.edu

Patrick Kirby, Director, Northern West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Center
(304) 293-6984
Patrick.Kirby@mail.wvu.edu

Carrie M. Staton, Associate Director, Northern West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Center
(304) 293-7071
Carrie.Staton@mail.wvu.edu

Jennifer Hause, Program Coordinator, Environmental Technology Division
(304) 293-7003
Jennifer.Hause@mail.wvu.edu

Melissa O’Neal, Program Manager
(304) 293-7006
Melissa.ONeal@mail.wvu.edu

Anna Withrow, Technical Assistance Programs Manager
(304) 293-7002
Anna.Withrow@mail.wvu.edu

Shae Strait, BAD Buildings Project Manager
(304) 293-7043
shae.strait@mail.wvu.edu

Megan Kruger, Environmental Education and Outreach Coordinator
(304) 293-7009
mkruger@mail.wvu.edu

Chris Vass, Research Engineer
(304) 293-7083
crvass@mail.wvu.edu

Ray Moeller, Economic Redevelopment Specialist
(304) 293-0390
raymond.moeller@mail.wvu.edu

Nicole Dias, BAD Buildings Project Associate
(304) 293-7003
ndias@mail.wvu.edu

Thomas “Wes” Edge, Materials Scientist
(304) 293-3886
twedge@mail.wvu.edu

Drew Bucy, Project Manager
(304) 293-7043
DBucy1@mail.wvu.edu

Ben Pursglove, Environmental Scientist
(304) 293-7044
bwpursglove@mail.wvu.edu

Terry Polce, Program Assistant II
(304) 293-7041
Terry.Polce@mail.wvu.edu