Water Resources Research

Objective

Our objective is to build the West Virginia Water Research Institute as the premier water research center in West Virginia and, within selected fields, an international leader.

Strategy

The Director and management of the West Virginia Water Research Institute aggressively search for funding opportunities from Federal and State agencies and the private sector. These funds are used to support specific research projects, are used to match USGS 104b cost share requirements, and cover administrative costs.


Contacts

Paul F. Ziemkiewicz, Ph.D., Director
(304) 293-6958
Paul.Ziemkiewicz@mail.wvu.edu

Tamara F. Vandivort, Assistant Director
(304) 293-6968 
Tamara.Vandivort@mail.wvu.edu


USGS 104b Water Research Program

West Virginia has had a Water Research Institute since 1967. While it has a statewide mandate, it has always been a small program, receiving about $130,000 per year initially and declining gradually to approximately $82,000 per year. Between 1996 and 1999, USGS eliminated the state funding programs in favor of regional competitions based on regional priorities. While the West Virginia Water Research Institute was successful in winning several awards, the change effectively eliminated our ability to serve the State’s water research priorities.

Starting in 2000, the research program came back to the states and in 2001 the amount of research dollars was increased. With water related issues increasing in importance to the State, this proved an opportune time to reinvigorate the West Virginia Water Research Institute (WVWRI).

Program Evaluation Report 2003 – 2007

Program Evaluation Report 1998 – 2002


WV Advisory Committee for Water Research

Danny Bennett
Wildlife Biologist
West Virginia Department of Natural Resources (WVDNR)
PO Box 67
Elkins, WV 26241
Phone: (304) 637-0245
Fax: (304) 637-0250
danny.a.bennett@wv.gov

US Geological Survey
Representative TBD

Frank Borsuk
Aquatic Fisheries Biologist
USEPA Region III
1060 Chapline Street, Suite 303
Wheeling, WV 26003-2995
Phone: (304) 234-0241
Fax: (304) 234-0257
borsuk.frank@epa.gov

Jason Bostic
West Virginia Coal Association
P.O. Box 3923
Charleston, WV 25339
Phone: (304)-342-4153
Fax: (304)-342-7651
jbostic@wvcoal.com

Thomas L. Clarke
Division Director, Mining and Reclamation
West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (WVDEP)
601 57th Street, S.E.
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 Ext. 1447
Fax: (304) 926-0456
thomas.l.clarke@wv.gov

Corky DeMarco
Executive Director
West Virginia Oil and Natural Gas Association
PO Box 3231
Charleston, WV 25332
Phone: (304) 343-1609
Fax: (304) 343-5610
DeMarco@wvonga.com

Charles (Charlie) W. Huguenard
Vice President & General Manager
GenPower Services, LLC
Vice President & General Manager
Longview Power
306 Dents Run Road
Morgantown, WV 26501
Phone: (304) 291-2850 x 2209
Fax: (304) 291-2851
charlie_huguenard@genpower.net

Scott Mandirola
Director, Water and Waste Management
West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (WVDEP)
601 57th Street, S.E.
Charleston, WV 26304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 Ext. 1058
Fax: (304) 926-0463
scott.g.mandirola@wv.gov

Steven Foster
Limnologist
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Huntington District
502 8th Street
Huntington, WV 25701-2070
Phone: (304) 399-5243
steven.w.foster@usace.army.mil

David Miller
Emeritus
WVU Extension and Public Service
98 Atlantic Road
Tunnelton, WV 26444
Phone: (304)-568-2322
miller.dave160@gmail.com

William Toomey
Manager, Source Water Assessment Program
West Virginia Bureau for Public Health (WVBPH)
350 Capital St Room 313
Charleston, WV  25301
Phone: (304)-356-4298 
Fax: (304)-558-4322 
william.j.toomey@wv.gov

Gary A. Wick
Federal Bureau of Investigation (N-DEx)
FBINAA 115th Session
1000 Custer Hollow Road
Clarksburg, WV 26306
Phone: (304) 625-2635
Fax: (304) 625-3456
gary.wick@leo.gov

Albert B. Yost
U.S. Department of Energy/National Energy Technology Laboratory (USDOE/NETL)
3610 Collins Ferry Road; PO Box 880
Mail Stop:PO1B
Morgantown, WV 26507-0880
Phone: (304) 285-4479
Fax: (304) 285-0985
albert.yost@netl.doe.gov