Appalachian Clean Streams Initiative

The Appalachian Clean Streams Initiative (ACSI) was developed in August 1994 as a “non-regulatory effort aimed at remediation of existing sources of Acid Mine Drainage often found at abandoned and bond-forfeited sites. This is an on-going effort to develop State, local and Federal partnerships to clean up polluted streams using watershed-based planning efforts, and focusing the energies and resources of citizens, communities, and corporations. A major goal of the clean-up plan is to increase information exchanges and to eliminate [duplicate] efforts among State, local and Federal government agencies that are working in this arena.” ACSI is supported by the Title IV Abandoned Mines-Office of Surface Mining, Environmental Protection Agency. This Initiative includes projects in 11 Appalachian States.


Contacts

Management

Paul F. Ziemkiewicz, Ph.D., Director
West Virginia Water Research Institute
West Virginia University
(304) 293-6958
Paul.Ziemkiewicz@mail.wvu.edu

Technical Staff

Brady Gutta, Project Manager
(304) 293-7002
Brady.Gutta@mail.wvu.edu

Administrative Staff

Terry Polce, Program Assistant II 
(304) 293-7041
Terry.Polce@mail.wvu.edu

Mailing Address

West Virginia University
National Research Center for Coal & Energy 
150 Evansdale Drive
PO Box 6064
Morgantown, WV 26506-6064
Telephone: (304) 293-2867
Fax: (304) 293-7822

State Contacts

  State Contacts OSM Contacts
Alabama Larry Barwick
AL DNR
Phone: (205) 945-8671
Fax: (205) 945-8685
Jeannie O’Dell
Birmingham, AL
Phone: (206) 290-7282
Fax: (205) 290-7280
jodell@osmre.gov
Indiana John Allen
IDNR
Phone: (812) 665-2207
Mike Kalagian
Indianapolis, IN
Phone: (317) 226-6700
Fax: (317) 226-6182
mkalagia@indgw.osmre.gov
Kentucky Steve Hohmann
KY DFWR
Phone: (502) 564-2141
Fax: (502) 564-6544
shomann@osmre.gov
Mark Carew
Lexington, KY
Phone: (603) 233-2457
Fax: (606) 233-2898
mcarew@osmre.gov
Maryland Joe Mills
MD BOM
Phone: (301) 689-6764 x301
jmills@allconet.org
Pete Hartman
Pittsburgh, PA
Phone: (412) 937-2905
Fax: (412) 937-2903
Ohio Mitch Farley
OH DNR
Phone: (740) 286-6411
Fax: (740) 286-1868
mitch.farley@dnr.state.oh.us
Max Luehrs
Columbus, OH
Phone: (614) 866-0578
Fax: (614) 469-2506
mluehrs@osmre.gov
Pennsylvania Pam Milavec
PA DEP
Phone: (814) 442-1800
Fax: (814) 472-1839
milavec.pamela@
al.dep.state.pa.us
Dave Hamilton
Harrisburg, PA
Phone: (717) 782-2285
Fax: (717) 782-3771
dhamil@osmre.gov
Tennessee Tim Eagle
TNDLR
Phone: (615) 594-6203
Danny Ellis
Knoxville, TN
Phone: (423) 545-4103 x147
Fax: (423) 545-4114
dellis@osmre.gov
Virginia Roger Williams
VA DNR
Phone: (540) 523-8208
Fax: (540) 523-8247
rlw@mme.state.va.us
Ronnie Vicars
Big Stone Gap, VA
Phone: (540) 523-0024 x33
Fax: (540) 523-5053
rvicars@osmre.gov
West Virginia Greg Adolfson
WV DEP
Phone: (304) 759-0512
Fax: (304) 759-0528
Rick Buckley
Charleston, WV
Phone: (304) 347-7158
Fax: (304) 347-7170
rbuckley@ewgv.osmre.gov